Our History since 1949
1949-1951: Willis Hobbies began as a hobby shop and machine shop by a German machinist named Karl in a 700 square foot store at 307 Willis Ave. The store specialized in Lionel and American Flyer Trains.
1951-1970: Karl expanded the shop to include model airplanes, slot cars and model kits. The store was moved to a 1,000 square foot building on Hillside Ave in Williston Park.
1970: Willis Hobbies was purchased by Alfred Ford who was an avid model railroader. Along with his wife Peggy, Sons Steven and Ken and daughter Linda. It was truly a family run store with the whole family behind the counter.
1971-1988: Willis Hobbies on the move again to Mineola Blvd. The store doubled in size added a Radio Control department and hand crafted brass trains
1988-1998: Another move to 285 Willis Ave., a 3,000 square foot store. Al Ford retired and sons Steve and Ken took over. Radio controlled races were held in the parking lot.
1998-Present: Moved into our current 12,000 square foot building located at 300 Willis Ave. We are now one of the largest hobby shops in the country. Run by Steve and Ken Ford with over 45 years of hobby experience. Please come to our shop to experience friendly expert service in a family oriented fun place.
Offer low prices with friendly expert service and
personable hands on help before and after the sale.
Open 7 days a week
Come see what we’re all about!
300 Willis Ave.
Mineola, NY 11501